The BFG

TheBFG.jpg

Bibliographical Information: Dahl, Roald. (2001). The BFG. United Kingdom: Penguin Books.

Brief Annotation: Sophie befriends a giant called the BFG, where many magical things happen.  In this story, the two of them team up to help save the people from the people-eating giants which the BFG is not a part of.

Genre: Children’s Novel

Grade Level: 4-6

Readers who will like this: I think this book is great for anyone that is into giants or imaginative creatures.  I grew fond of the bond between the two of these characters and I think this is something all readers will enjoy.

Rating/Response: 5 I have never read this book but heard it was great from many people my own age.  I loved reading it and found it to be really loving and goofy at the same time.

One question you would ask before a read aloud: What does BFG stand for?!

Reading Strategy: Free Choice

Rationale for Strategy: I chose this book because it was a popular book when I was a kid but never read it.  I felt it was important for me to read it so I knew what it was about.  I think this book would be a great day-to-day read-aloud with my students.

Posted by: Brittany Billiet

Leave a Reply

