Llama Llama Red Pajama

Bibliographical Information: Dewdney, A. (2005). Llama Llama Red Pajama. USA: Penguin Group.

Brief Annotation: Baby Llama is waiting to be tucked in at night but begins to worry when his mama doesn’t come!  Lots of rhyming and repetition occurs in this book.

Genre: Children’s Book

Grade Level: Pre-K-1

Readers who will like this: Children will love this because they can relate to being tucked into bed.  I remember worrying if my mom didn’t tuck me in so this is a perfect book for children that feel this way too!

Rating/Response: 3 I read this book with one of my students during my practicum and really enjoyed it and had to read it again.  I loved the repetition and the pictures in the story.

One question you would ask before a read aloud: Do you ever worry that your parent/guardian isn’t going to tuck you in for bed?

Reading Strategy: Free Choice

Rationale for Strategy: I chose to read this book because I read it with a student who had chosen it to read to me.  I loved it and had to read it again.  It is a book that many children if not most, can relate to.

Posted by: Brittany Billiet

Leave a Reply

