George Washington’s Teeth

Bibliographical Information: Chandra, D. (2003). George Washington’s Teeth. New York: Farrar Straus Giroux.

Brief Annotation: This book is both factual and witty and provides the many accounts of George Washington losing his teeth.

Genre: Social Studies

Grade Level: Pre-K-3

Readers who will like this: I think anyone would enjoy this book.  It is a funny way of telling the actual ways that George Washington lost his teeth.  Young children may relate to this as they are losing their own teeth!

Rating/Response: 5 I loved this book.  I think it is great to incorporate in the classroom as children begin learning about George Washington.

One question you would ask before a read aloud: From what we have learned about George Washington, have we learned anything about his teeth? If not, what do you think happened to them?

Reading Strategy: Social Studies

Rationale for Strategy: I chose this book because I like witty books and I feel that it keeps children engaged.  I could see myself using this book to introduce a lesson during a social studies unit in my classroom.

Posted by: Brittany Billiet

Leave a Reply

