A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Bad Beginning

Bibliographic Information: Snicket, Lemony, and Brett Helquist. A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Bad Beginning. New York: HarperCollins, 1999. Print.

Brief Annotation: This book is about three children who unfortunately lost their parents and have to be moved from house to house until they are brought to their last and final house.  In that house, they face a lot of scary events that they must try to overcome.  They must find a way to get out of the house, in order to save themselves.

Genre: Fiction

Grade Level: 3rd Grade-6th Grade

Reader who will like this: There are many different students who will enjoy this book, but especially students who enjoy fictional stories that are adventurous.  Boys or girls will like this book.

Rating/Response: 4, this book is different than a lot of the books I have read in the past, which makes it even more interesting.  It has thrill and adventure that leaves you on the edge of your seat and wanting more.  Luckily, it is quite a large series of books.

One question you would ask before a read aloud: We all have had a series of unfortunate events that have happened.  What are some times you have felt everything completely went wrong?

Reading Strategy: Free Choice (Chapter)

Rationale for Strategy: This book is a great chapter book that I think a lot of students will love to read.  It is not a book for everyone, which is why I think it would be best for a free choice.

Posted by: Breanna Richey


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s